Why keep things a secret if it could possibly kill you?

I’ve yet to understand why health issues have been such a hard subject to speak on in black families. Millions of Black Americans hide secrets from there loved ones that could change there lives and the lives of other family members for the better. I for one have gone through that stage in my life when I just didn’t want to know, but that didn’t last long. Looking into my daughters’ eyes I realized that I needed to be alive to raise her. Throughout the years I’ve stumbled back into those brief moments where I lack in tending to my health, but at a point in my life I decided to take charge and stay mindful of my health in order to survive for my family. The bottom line is that its up to you if you want to stay healthy or get healthy, but once you have children it should be about staying alive and healthy to support them. 


Anything less is just selfish and inconsiderate,

Leave a comment